Bed and Breakfast Windermere | Bed and Breakfast Lake District,

Reviews


  • “Very nice hotel”5 of 5 starsReviewed 4 days ago NEW 14th July

    One of the nicest hotels I have stayed in , Owners are nice friendly people and also the young Czech girl who served us was very nice. The room we had was great, comfortable bed (4 poster) and fantastic bathroom with spa. plenty amenities and clean. The breakfasts were also very nice , we will definitely return.

  • “The best hotel in Windermere by far”5 of 5 starsReviewed 1 week ago NEW 12th July

    This is our 3rd stay at the excellent Glenburn Hotel. I cannot praise it highly enough; all aspects are faultless and exemplary. Staff are all very friendly, cheerful, attentive, and helpful. Rooms are attractively decorated, extremely clean and with lovely ensuites. Food is fantastic, with an amazing choice at breakfast, with cooked dishes done to perfection, and delicious evening meals....

  • “Ideal setting for exploring the lakes ”4 of 5 starsReviewed yesterday NEW

    Down with my wife and son for a few days,and is an ideal base for day trips round cumbria. While the family room was a bit of a squeeze,this is a nice and relaxed hotel. Staff very pleasant,hotel was clean and the breakfast set you up for the day. Hope to be back soon

  • “Lovely stay again.”4 of 5 starsReviewed 1st July 2014 NEW Had another lovely stay at the Glenburn, in our favourite room 13. Only minor grumble mattress was a bit soft and had a bit of roll together, but more down to our personal preference and maybe the weight of my OH. However, warm welcome, great service and lovely food. Can't ask for anything more. See you next year.
  • “2nd visit to this lovely hotel”5 of 5 starsReviewed 1 week ago We visited last October and decided to come back again in the warmer months (June) for a brief walking holiday. Once again, the staff (same staff as before) were incredibly warm, friendly, helpful, and welcoming throughout our two-day stay.  The breakfasts are absolutely delicious, with a huge choice, and were cooked to perfection on both days. The vegetarian breakfast with the vegetarian sausage went down very well, too, with the vegetarian member of our part
  • After the excellent evening meal we had on our last visit, we decided to dine at the hotel on both evenings this time, and were not disappointed. The lamb shank, with a delicious rich sauce, on our second day, was divine, and, I believe, cooked by the owner herself as the chef was off that day. The vegetarian mushroom pastry was delicious.
    As before, the room (this time room 7), was beautiful, tastefully decorated, and very very clean - the towel swans and rose petals on the bed a lovely touch.
    The bathroom was very clean, modern, with an excellent shower, and supplied with very nice complementary toiletries.
    A great deal of effort has gone into the external appearance of the hotel, and the flower beds, windows boxes, etc. are obviously tended to on a very regular basis. This is just one example of the attention to detail shown by the hotel.
    We cannot praise this gem of a hotel enough for the excellence of the staff, accommodation, and, of course, the food.
    Many thanks, and we shall be back soon. Tim and Marj.


  • Would happily return”4 of 5 starsReviewed 12 June 2012 John with Group of friends United Kingdom 15 June 2014
  • The food was out of this world. really enjoyed our meal in the evening, we were going to look somewhere else one evening but decided your was far the best. WELL DONE

    The bed in room 12 was a bit creaky but the room very clean an tidy. Thanks.

    Translated by Google.  9.2
  • Robert a Couple United Kingdom 14 June 2014

    As soon as you step into the reception you are treated with respect and that continued through all the staff. Our room and bed was very clean and comfy, food is of the top order. The general feel of the hotel was first class, would book again.

    Translated by Google.  10
  • RobertCouple United Kingdom13 June 2014

    Our room was always clean and tidy with a very comfy bed, food was top class and fresh, with all staff there to help with any problems if you had any. A very nice hotel to stay at.

    Hated Leaving

  • Translated by Google. 10/10

Our latest Trip Advisor reviews 4 of 5 stars

Traveller rating

A quick escape

Reviewed 1 week ago 27th May 2014

We have just returned from a one night stay at the Glenburn. We have stayed here before a number of years ago. We visit the lake district quite often and just wanted a quick escape for the night and this hotel was available. The room was spacy and comfortable, the bathroom was a little small but ok for one night.

A lovely stay in a lovely hotel.4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile 23rd May 2014

Stayed as a couple for a short break and had to say that the hotel was lovely, the staff were pleasant, polite and very helpful. The hotel itself is very clean and the room was decorated nicely, modern yet in keeping with the traditional style of the hotel. Would definitely recommend to others and would stay again.

“Excellent for Dinner” 5 of 5 starsReviewed 16th May

We called in here on the off-chance as we were struggling to book a table in Windermere centre. We were really pleased that we did, they have a set menu and all the food was cooked to perfection. The dining room feels very cosy and the set menu is extremely reasonable. I have never reviewed anywhere on tripadvisor before but feel that I have to because this place was a real find. There were two adults and one child in our party and we all loved it. We will definitely go back when we are in the area again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
“Bank Holiday Break”4 of 5 starsReviewed 4 days ago 5th May 2014

Just returned from a break in this lovely hotel. The hotel owners and staff were excellent and very helpful and accommodating. The room was as shown on the website and it is great that you can actually see the room you are booking. We would definitely stay again and will recommend this hotel to family and friends. The location is very good it is a stroll both to Windermere shops and Bowness .

Room Tip: Look on the hotel website where all the rooms have a number and pictures and tell you which floor th...See more room tips

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
“Excellent hotel”5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago 20th April 2014

This hotel is centrally located. The staff are friendly, welcoming and extremely hard working. There is no lift in the hotel. However we were offered assistance with our luggage. The room was lovely and warm when we arrived. Breakfast was great too. The hotel is an ideal location for exploring the many walks, restaurants and facilities of both Windermere and Bowness-on-Windermere. Orrest head is a short walk from the hotel. There are lovely views of the lake from the top. The hotel is ideal for those wishing to travel further afield. We went to Ambleside, Grasmere, Keswick also to Dove Cottage and Hill Top. I can recommend the Lighthouse restaurant in Windermere, the Ship Inn and New Hall Inn (more commonly known as "the hole in the wall" in Bowness-on-Windermere.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family

“WHAT A GEM” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 19th April 2014

Just returned from a stay at this excellent hotel. We booked the two night package with dinner on one night , staying in a room with four poster bed. What can I say, everything was wonderful, lovely, homely hotel. Staff were very welcoming and considerate, their knowledge of the area was brilliant

Darren B   Reviewed 9th April 2014

Surprise stop to treat the wife on way back home, was attracted to the prospect of a four poster bed. Also offered a spa bath with rain fall shower, although this was all crambed into a very small bathroom. Think I let he notion and romance of it confuse reality. Hotel wasn't exactly to the standard of the photo's.

Very nice   Reviewed 29th March 2014 

Just come back from 2 nights stay and would defiantly recommend the glenburn hotel .. It was my fiancé,s 50th birthday and 12 red roses and a bottle if champagne was awaiting our arrivel with chocolate strawberries ,which she loved.. I could not fault the hotel , and great location between Windermere and Bowness.

Convenient location and comfortable hotel effecient5 of 5 stars Reviewed 24 March 2014

I would certainly recommend this hotel. We stayed for our golden wedding anniversary for six days. We had the romantic package which was waiting for us on arrival, nicely presented. The room was clean and warm . The staff were effecient, friendly and helpful and pointed us in the direction of interesting places to see. We found The Bluebird Cafe on the edge of Lake Conniston and on the day we went it was sunny with no wind. In those conditions, what a beautiful place, beautiful scenery. We had two meals in the hotel which were nicely served and very tasty. It definitely has a friendly feel about it.
Many thanks for an enjoyable stay.
Harold and Mary Hudders

Excellent Hotel4 of 5 stars Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed here for two nights. On our arrival there was an issue with the room we booked but were told that we had been upgraded. The room was clean and tidy and had all that you would need or want. The staff were very polite, helpful and welcoming, nothing was too much trouble. The food was excellent! I would definatley recomend people try the evening meal.

Very nice spot in The Lake District4 of 5 stars Reviewed 7 March 2014

Located about half way between Windermere and Bowness townships the Glenburn is probably similar to a lot of accommodation in this area. The room we had was lovely with a four poster bed and a spa bath in a good sized bathroom. Staff were very helpful and had taken notice of our gluten free request when booking and we didn't have to prompt them about this at breakfast. We went in early spring which isn't the busy time but the place was quiet even on a main road and well located if you don't mind a little stroll town for a meal. And by little I mean less than 2k. They also had a deal with a local health club which gave access to pools, saunas etc which we used and was very nice. That's about 2-3k down the road in Bowness

excellent stay4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 March 2014

On arrival at the Glenburn Hotel, the staff were very friendly and attentive. We were shown to our room the room was very nicely decorated and the bed was soooooo comfy. We decided to have food in the restaurant " Good Idea" . The food was well presented and very tasty..
On finishing our meal we had drinks in the lounge with some of the other residents, had a fabulous night.. The owner of the hotel "Jackie" had a drink with us and made us all welcome... Nothing was a problem .. The service was second to none.
Will definately return to this hotel again and recommend to our friends.
Thanks again for a wonderful stay

Great Stay (Again)5 of 5 stars Reviewed 25 February 2014

Another fantastic stay at the Glenburn hotel. This time we took our children and stayed in he family room. The staff were very helpful as they have been the past times we have been to this hotel. Ate in the restaurant on our last night, the food was fantastic. The steak and ale pie was delicious. The full English in the morning was very nice and a great way to start the day before taking the kids out. We will definitely be going back for another family weekend away.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family

Go and find out5 of 5 stars Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Just back from fri and sat night stay.
Room 3 four poster bed. Comfy and very nice room with jacuzzi bath
Ate in restaurant on fri night superb food and steak cooked like I wanted.
Staff friendly and welcoming.
Great value for a superb hotel. Close to town for bars or restaurants.
Great. Thank you for a lovely weekend.

Stayed February 2014

Highly recommended

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 16 February 2014

 We stayed for valentines weekend. Fantastic hotel, great friendly and helpful staff. We stayed in a beautiful 4 poster room. Rose petals and chocolates in your room . Would highly recommend people to visit. Thanks for a great weekend, will definitely be coming back.

“Brilliant”5 of 5 stars Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for the weekend and everything about the stay was fantastic!..... The food is amazing, the staff could not be more helpful and the whole place overall was brilliant! Will definately be coming back.

Stayed February 2014

Recommended4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel on a New Year package from 30 Dec to 2 Jan.
Staff were very good from booking, to greeting us, to when we left. Very friendly, nothing too much trouble - Marta, the dark haired Polish girl who we dealt with most of the time, was particularly brilliant and it really made our stay.
We were in room 8 which was very nice, the bathroom was quite small but to be fair it was just how it was shown on the interactive video on the website, so no complaints. It was very very warm but we could turn the radiators down - nice to have the choice! Room 8 is on the main road but i didnt notice any road noise at all and i'm quite a light sleeper.
Breakfast was great, lots of choice and well cooked, lots of cereals. If i was being ultra picky i'd ask for more fresh fruit but that is only a suggestion





.


Sorry we currently have no feedback.