Bed and Breakfast Windermere | Bed and Breakfast Lake District,

Reviews

  • 10 / 10 Exceptiona l19 October 2014
    • •Leisure trip
    • •Family
    • •Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • •Stayed 3 nights

    Well run hotel, friendly attentive staff,hearty breakfast and the kids loved the bunk beds

  • 10/10 Exceptional 21 October 2014 The staff were fabulous.. A warm welcome as soon as we arrived and the customer service was spot on.. We stayed in room 6 which was full of everything we needed to relax.. Prompt breakfast and all served with a smile.. We will return as we value their hospitality and welcome..
  • A bit creaky from the room upstairs but it all added to a nice stay..

  • “Great Hotel”5 of 5 starsReviewed 1 week ago

    We stayed here from the 14th to 16th of October 2014. This is a well run Hotel and all the staff we met were very helpful and attentive. It is not a new building which just adds to the charm of the place. A really nice Breakfast sets you up the adventures of the day ahead. Many thanks for looking after us. Gordon, Aileen, Harry & Eve.

  • Stayed here 18/19 October in room 6 .. Loved the room presentation and the spa bath for entertainment value.. The staff were more than helpful and theres nothing better than eye contact and a smile on reception.. Thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone who visits Windermere..

  • Four fantastic days in the lakes”5 of 5 starsReviewed 1 week ago

    We had stayed at this hotel before so we knew what to expect. Comfy warm room, excellent breakfast, friendly and professional service and an ideal base to tour the lakes. Try the blueberry scones at The Waterside Coffee Shop near the pier in Ambleside. Grizedale forest for walking, cycling and activities for all. Grasmere - check out the gingerbread shop.

    Stayed September 2014, travelled with family
  • “Lovely Hotel”5 of 5 stars

    We stayed here for 2 nights in August and I cannot find fault. The room was clean, the hard working staff were great and helpful. The breakfast excellent and the restaurant food was delicious both nights - would recommend the lamb shank. A great location. Would definitely book again if ever in the area

  • “Lake break5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

    We stayed here for two nights on 17th & 18th September in room 18 which was facing the main road. Really nice room and bathroom and room were both spotless. Nice touch were the towels done up like swans on the bed. Only thing that wasn't a real issue was the noise from the early morning traffic when you had the window open. We live on a main road so we're used to it. Not much the hotel could do about this.
    The hotel itself is really cosy and warm, and bar reasonably priced, and was very busy during our stay.
    We didn't have dinner but the breakfast was brilliant. Full English and they'll give you what you want. Busy at times but no-one waited more than 5 mins. The staff worked extremely hard and always seemed to be on duty, either waiting in the restaurant or attending at reception.
    Plenty of parking spaces at front and at the rear. Together with the great weather this made for a great short break. Thank you.

  • The Gem of Windermere; charming Hotel, lovely staff”5 of 5 stars NEW

    Visited the Lakes for a two-day walking holiday in September and chose, again, the delightful Glenburn Hotel in Windermere.
    The Owners and staff were all very welcoming, and friendly, as usual, and special praise to the lovely black-haired waitress, who is such a treasure, and asset to this hotel.
    We dined at the hotel on both nights, and the food was out of this world, especially the garlic mushrooms, the lamb shank, and the vegetarian stroganoff.
    Breakfasts, too, were delicious, with a huge selection.

  • “Very comfortable stay5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

    Room (15) very comfortable and attractively decorated. This room is at the back of the hotel so is quiet. The Bathroom is small but adequate, although it could do with an extra shelf and somewhere to put things in the shower cubicle.

    We had dinner in the hotel on 2 of our 3 nights and thought it was excellent, particularly the lamb shank and steak pudding. The full English breakfast was also very good.

    All the staff we met were very friendly and a credit to the hotel.

  • Stayed September

  • Fantastic hotel for families!”5 of 5 stars  NEW via mobile

    We stayed for a week at the Glenburn with our children and parents and had a lovely stay. As soon as we arrived we were given a warm welcome and shown   local areas of interest that the children may like. We stayed for dinner the first evening which we all found delicious ,and the cooked breakfast was fresh and tasty with a good selection of fruit, cereals and pastries etc. All the staff at the Glenburn are so friendly and helpful and the rooms were clean and comfortable, we would recommend to friends. Thanks very much to everyone at the glenburn.

    Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
  • “Great stay. You must try their evening meals.”4 of 5 stars

    We stayed for 3 nights in the family room. The hotel is very good value for the lakes; where everything is SO expensive!! The room was clean, and had plenty of room for a family. Comfy beds, and a good bathroom. We really appreciated being able to use the leisure facilities at the bigger hotel a few minutes away in Bowness; nice pool there which the children enjoyed.

  • “Lovely place”5 of 5 stars

    My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of the month.Like previous reviews from other people we cannot find fault with it.We had a four-poster room,number 7,which is at the front of the hotel but you cannot hear any traffic from the road at all.The staff were terrific,very helpful and hardworking

  • “Great for family break.”5 of 5 stars

    My mum and I have just returned from a 2 night stay at The Glenburn with my 9 and 6 year olds. I cannot say a bad word about this lovely little hotel! We were greeted at the reception desk by a very friendly lady who showed us round the hotel lounge, bar and restaurant and then to our room.

  • “No fault found!

    My wife and I stayed at the Glenburn for 3 nights and it was perfect for our purposes. It was clean and well maintained. The room was comfortable and cleaned/serviced every day by the maid. The staff were a cheery bunch and the chef produced lovely meals on the one night we chose to eat in the restaurant. Glenburn guests...

  • “Great Hotel perfectly located”5 of 5 stars

    I booked this hotel for my wife and I for 5 nights in July. Its perfectly located between Windermere and Bowness which means that evening dinners were no more than a 10-15 mins walk away. After a warm welcome we were shown to our en-suite room which was clean and and comfortable. There is a car park at the rear

  • “Very nice hotel”5 of 5 stars 

    One of the nicest hotels I have stayed in , Owners are nice friendly people and also the young Czech girl who served us was very nice. The room we had was great, comfortable bed (4 poster) and fantastic bathroom with spa. plenty amenities and clean. The breakfasts were also very nice , we will definitely return.

  • “The best hotel in Windermere by far”5 of 5 starsReviewed 1 week ago NEW 

    This is our 3rd stay at the excellent Glenburn Hotel. I cannot praise it highly enough; all aspects are faultless and exemplary. Staff are all very friendly, cheerful, attentive, and helpful. Rooms are attractively decorated, extremely clean and with lovely ensuites. Food is fantastic, with an amazing choice at breakfast, with cooked dishes done to perfection, and delicious evening meals....

  • “Ideal setting for exploring the lakes ”4 of 5 starsReviewed yesterday NEW

    Down with my wife and son for a few days,and is an ideal base for day trips round cumbria. While the family room was a bit of a squeeze,this is a nice and relaxed hotel. Staff very pleasant,hotel was clean and the breakfast set you up for the day. Hope to be back soon

  • “Lovely stay again.”4 of 5 starsReviewed 1st July 2014 NEW Had another lovely stay at the Glenburn, in our favourite room 13. Only minor grumble mattress was a bit soft and had a bit of roll together, but more down to our personal preference and maybe the weight of my OH. However, warm welcome, great service and lovely food. Can't ask for anything more. See you next year.
  • “2nd visit to this lovely hotel”5 of 5 starsReviewed 1 week ago We visited last October and decided to come back again in the warmer months (June) for a brief walking holiday. Once again, the staff (same staff as before) were incredibly warm, friendly, helpful, and welcoming throughout our two-day stay.  The breakfasts are absolutely delicious, with a huge choice, and were cooked to perfection on both days. The vegetarian breakfast with the vegetarian sausage went down very well, too, with the vegetarian member of our part
  • After the excellent evening meal we had on our last visit, we decided to dine at the hotel on both evenings this time, and were not disappointed. The lamb shank, with a delicious rich sauce, on our second day, was divine, and, I believe, cooked by the owner herself as the chef was off that day. The vegetarian mushroom pastry was delicious.
    As before, the room (this time room 7), was beautiful, tastefully decorated, and very very clean - the towel swans and rose petals on the bed a lovely touch.
    The bathroom was very clean, modern, with an excellent shower, and supplied with very nice complementary toiletries.
    A great deal of effort has gone into the external appearance of the hotel, and the flower beds, windows boxes, etc. are obviously tended to on a very regular basis. This is just one example of the attention to detail shown by the hotel.
    We cannot praise this gem of a hotel enough for the excellence of the staff, accommodation, and, of course, the food.
    Many thanks, and we shall be back soon. Tim and Marj.


  • Would happily return”4 of 5 starsReviewed 12 June 2012 John with Group of friends United Kingdom 15 June 2014
  • The food was out of this world. really enjoyed our meal in the evening, we were going to look somewhere else one evening but decided your was far the best. WELL DONE

    The bed in room 12 was a bit creaky but the room very clean an tidy. Thanks.

    Translated by Google.  9.2
  • Robert a Couple United Kingdom 14 June 2014

    As soon as you step into the reception you are treated with respect and that continued through all the staff. Our room and bed was very clean and comfy, food is of the top order. The general feel of the hotel was first class, would book again.

    Translated by Google.  10
  • RobertCouple United Kingdom13 June 2014

    Our room was always clean and tidy with a very comfy bed, food was top class and fresh, with all staff there to help with any problems if you had any. A very nice hotel to stay at.

    Hated Leaving

  • Translated by Google. 10/10

Our latest Trip Advisor reviews 4 of 5 stars

Traveller rating

A quick escape

Reviewed 1 week ago 27th May 2014

We have just returned from a one night stay at the Glenburn. We have stayed here before a number of years ago. We visit the lake district quite often and just wanted a quick escape for the night and this hotel was available. The room was spacy and comfortable, the bathroom was a little small but ok for one night.

A lovely stay in a lovely hotel.4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile 23rd May 2014

Stayed as a couple for a short break and had to say that the hotel was lovely, the staff were pleasant, polite and very helpful. The hotel itself is very clean and the room was decorated nicely, modern yet in keeping with the traditional style of the hotel. Would definitely recommend to others and would stay again.

“Excellent for Dinner” 5 of 5 starsReviewed 16th May

We called in here on the off-chance as we were struggling to book a table in Windermere centre. We were really pleased that we did, they have a set menu and all the food was cooked to perfection. The dining room feels very cosy and the set menu is extremely reasonable. I have never reviewed anywhere on tripadvisor before but feel that I have to because this place was a real find. There were two adults and one child in our party and we all loved it. We will definitely go back when we are in the area again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family






.


Sorry we currently have no feedback.