Bed and Breakfast Windermere | Bed and Breakfast Lake District,

Reviews


  • “Very comfortable stay5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

    Room (15) very comfortable and attractively decorated. This room is at the back of the hotel so is quiet. The Bathroom is small but adequate, although it could do with an extra shelf and somewhere to put things in the shower cubicle.

    We had dinner in the hotel on 2 of our 3 nights and thought it was excellent, particularly the lamb shank and steak pudding. The full English breakfast was also very good.

    All the staff we met were very friendly and a credit to the hotel.

  • Stayed September

  • Fantastic hotel for families!”5 of 5 stars  NEW via mobile

    We stayed for a week at the Glenburn with our children and parents and had a lovely stay. As soon as we arrived we were given a warm welcome and shown   local areas of interest that the children may like. We stayed for dinner the first evening which we all found delicious ,and the cooked breakfast was fresh and tasty with a good selection of fruit, cereals and pastries etc. All the staff at the Glenburn are so friendly and helpful and the rooms were clean and comfortable, we would recommend to friends. Thanks very much to everyone at the glenburn.

    Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
  • “Great stay. You must try their evening meals.”4 of 5 stars

    We stayed for 3 nights in the family room. The hotel is very good value for the lakes; where everything is SO expensive!! The room was clean, and had plenty of room for a family. Comfy beds, and a good bathroom. We really appreciated being able to use the leisure facilities at the bigger hotel a few minutes away in Bowness; nice pool there which the children enjoyed.

  • “Lovely place”5 of 5 stars

    My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of the month.Like previous reviews from other people we cannot find fault with it.We had a four-poster room,number 7,which is at the front of the hotel but you cannot hear any traffic from the road at all.The staff were terrific,very helpful and hardworking

  • “Great for family break.”5 of 5 stars

    My mum and I have just returned from a 2 night stay at The Glenburn with my 9 and 6 year olds. I cannot say a bad word about this lovely little hotel! We were greeted at the reception desk by a very friendly lady who showed us round the hotel lounge, bar and restaurant and then to our room.

  • “No fault found!

    My wife and I stayed at the Glenburn for 3 nights and it was perfect for our purposes. It was clean and well maintained. The room was comfortable and cleaned/serviced every day by the maid. The staff were a cheery bunch and the chef produced lovely meals on the one night we chose to eat in the restaurant. Glenburn guests...

  • “Great Hotel perfectly located”5 of 5 stars

    I booked this hotel for my wife and I for 5 nights in July. Its perfectly located between Windermere and Bowness which means that evening dinners were no more than a 10-15 mins walk away. After a warm welcome we were shown to our en-suite room which was clean and and comfortable. There is a car park at the rear

  • “Very nice hotel”5 of 5 stars 

    One of the nicest hotels I have stayed in , Owners are nice friendly people and also the young Czech girl who served us was very nice. The room we had was great, comfortable bed (4 poster) and fantastic bathroom with spa. plenty amenities and clean. The breakfasts were also very nice , we will definitely return.

  • “The best hotel in Windermere by far”5 of 5 starsReviewed 1 week ago NEW 

    This is our 3rd stay at the excellent Glenburn Hotel. I cannot praise it highly enough; all aspects are faultless and exemplary. Staff are all very friendly, cheerful, attentive, and helpful. Rooms are attractively decorated, extremely clean and with lovely ensuites. Food is fantastic, with an amazing choice at breakfast, with cooked dishes done to perfection, and delicious evening meals....

  • “Ideal setting for exploring the lakes ”4 of 5 starsReviewed yesterday NEW

    Down with my wife and son for a few days,and is an ideal base for day trips round cumbria. While the family room was a bit of a squeeze,this is a nice and relaxed hotel. Staff very pleasant,hotel was clean and the breakfast set you up for the day. Hope to be back soon

  • “Lovely stay again.”4 of 5 starsReviewed 1st July 2014 NEW Had another lovely stay at the Glenburn, in our favourite room 13. Only minor grumble mattress was a bit soft and had a bit of roll together, but more down to our personal preference and maybe the weight of my OH. However, warm welcome, great service and lovely food. Can't ask for anything more. See you next year.
  • “2nd visit to this lovely hotel”5 of 5 starsReviewed 1 week ago We visited last October and decided to come back again in the warmer months (June) for a brief walking holiday. Once again, the staff (same staff as before) were incredibly warm, friendly, helpful, and welcoming throughout our two-day stay.  The breakfasts are absolutely delicious, with a huge choice, and were cooked to perfection on both days. The vegetarian breakfast with the vegetarian sausage went down very well, too, with the vegetarian member of our part
  • After the excellent evening meal we had on our last visit, we decided to dine at the hotel on both evenings this time, and were not disappointed. The lamb shank, with a delicious rich sauce, on our second day, was divine, and, I believe, cooked by the owner herself as the chef was off that day. The vegetarian mushroom pastry was delicious.
    As before, the room (this time room 7), was beautiful, tastefully decorated, and very very clean - the towel swans and rose petals on the bed a lovely touch.
    The bathroom was very clean, modern, with an excellent shower, and supplied with very nice complementary toiletries.
    A great deal of effort has gone into the external appearance of the hotel, and the flower beds, windows boxes, etc. are obviously tended to on a very regular basis. This is just one example of the attention to detail shown by the hotel.
    We cannot praise this gem of a hotel enough for the excellence of the staff, accommodation, and, of course, the food.
    Many thanks, and we shall be back soon. Tim and Marj.


  • Would happily return”4 of 5 starsReviewed 12 June 2012 John with Group of friends United Kingdom 15 June 2014
  • The food was out of this world. really enjoyed our meal in the evening, we were going to look somewhere else one evening but decided your was far the best. WELL DONE

    The bed in room 12 was a bit creaky but the room very clean an tidy. Thanks.

    Translated by Google.  9.2
  • Robert a Couple United Kingdom 14 June 2014

    As soon as you step into the reception you are treated with respect and that continued through all the staff. Our room and bed was very clean and comfy, food is of the top order. The general feel of the hotel was first class, would book again.

    Translated by Google.  10
  • RobertCouple United Kingdom13 June 2014

    Our room was always clean and tidy with a very comfy bed, food was top class and fresh, with all staff there to help with any problems if you had any. A very nice hotel to stay at.

    Hated Leaving

  • Translated by Google. 10/10

Our latest Trip Advisor reviews 4 of 5 stars

Traveller rating

A quick escape

Reviewed 1 week ago 27th May 2014

We have just returned from a one night stay at the Glenburn. We have stayed here before a number of years ago. We visit the lake district quite often and just wanted a quick escape for the night and this hotel was available. The room was spacy and comfortable, the bathroom was a little small but ok for one night.

A lovely stay in a lovely hotel.4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile 23rd May 2014

Stayed as a couple for a short break and had to say that the hotel was lovely, the staff were pleasant, polite and very helpful. The hotel itself is very clean and the room was decorated nicely, modern yet in keeping with the traditional style of the hotel. Would definitely recommend to others and would stay again.

“Excellent for Dinner” 5 of 5 starsReviewed 16th May

We called in here on the off-chance as we were struggling to book a table in Windermere centre. We were really pleased that we did, they have a set menu and all the food was cooked to perfection. The dining room feels very cosy and the set menu is extremely reasonable. I have never reviewed anywhere on tripadvisor before but feel that I have to because this place was a real find. There were two adults and one child in our party and we all loved it. We will definitely go back when we are in the area again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
“Bank Holiday Break”4 of 5 starsReviewed 4 days ago 5th May 2014

Just returned from a break in this lovely hotel. The hotel owners and staff were excellent and very helpful and accommodating. The room was as shown on the website and it is great that you can actually see the room you are booking. We would definitely stay again and will recommend this hotel to family and friends. The location is very good it is a stroll both to Windermere shops and Bowness .

Room Tip: Look on the hotel website where all the rooms have a number and pictures and tell you which floor th...See more room tips

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
“Excellent hotel”5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago 20th April 2014

This hotel is centrally located. The staff are friendly, welcoming and extremely hard working. There is no lift in the hotel. However we were offered assistance with our luggage. The room was lovely and warm when we arrived. Breakfast was great too. The hotel is an ideal location for exploring the many walks, restaurants and facilities of both Windermere and Bowness-on-Windermere. Orrest head is a short walk from the hotel. There are lovely views of the lake from the top. The hotel is ideal for those wishing to travel further afield. We went to Ambleside, Grasmere, Keswick also to Dove Cottage and Hill Top. I can recommend the Lighthouse restaurant in Windermere, the Ship Inn and New Hall Inn (more commonly known as "the hole in the wall" in Bowness-on-Windermere.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family

“WHAT A GEM” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 19th April 2014

Just returned from a stay at this excellent hotel. We booked the two night package with dinner on one night , staying in a room with four poster bed. What can I say, everything was wonderful, lovely, homely hotel. Staff were very welcoming and considerate, their knowledge of the area was brilliant

Darren B   Reviewed 9th April 2014

Surprise stop to treat the wife on way back home, was attracted to the prospect of a four poster bed. Also offered a spa bath with rain fall shower, although this was all crambed into a very small bathroom. Think I let he notion and romance of it confuse reality. Hotel wasn't exactly to the standard of the photo's.








.


Sorry we currently have no feedback.